Gridiron Club and Massachusetts High School Football Coaches’ Association to Honor 2022 All-State High School Squad at March 12 SUPER26 Banquet

Also Presenting Individual Awards:

Coach of the Year, Courage Award, Top Player in City of Boston, and Outstanding Officials

BOSTON – March 3, 2023 – The 24th Annual Super26 Banquet, honoring the best in high school football for 2022, will be held on Sunday, March 12 at 5:00 p.m. at the Burlington Marriott Hotel.

Sponsored by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston and the Massachusetts High School Football Coaches’ Association, the SUPER26 Banquet honors the top high school football players in the Commonwealth for the 2022 season. Additional awards conferred at the dinner recognize players who have displayed exceptional courage during their high school careers; the best player in the City of Boston; and the year’s top high school coach; and the outstanding football official.

The SUPER26 Team Members for 2022:

Quarterbacks: Tucker McDonald, Wachusett; James Murphy, Reading; William Watson, Springfield Central

Running Backs: David Brown, St. Mary’s; Carson Harwood, Catholic Memorial; Darrell Jones, Catholic Memorial

Receivers: Ian Dixon, Wakefield; Jesse Ofurie, St. John’s Prep

Offensive Linemen: Jayden Bass, Springfield Cathedral; Case Mankins, Bishop Feehan; Braden Marceau-olayinka, Melrose; Jon Mould,  Xaverian; Danny Thompson, Scituate; Joshua Troiano, Seekonk

Defensive Linemen: Josiah Griffin, Springfield Cathedral; Jaden Wiggins, Central Catholic; Chris Sesay,  King Philip

Linebackers: Lincoln Beal, Andover; Owen Howlett, Milton Academy; Angelo LaRose, Worcester South; Preston Zinter, Central Catholic

Defensive Backs:

Joenel Aguero, St. John’s Prep; Liam Donagher, Grafton; Joey Duggan; Nobles; Eric Miles, Bedford; Owen McHugh, Milton   

Also Honoring:

Ohrenberger Award for Coach of the Year: Al Costabile, Shawsheen Valley Tech

Stewart Award for Outstanding High School Official: Ron Annand, ANEFO; Jon Rockwood, AIFO

Henry Smith Courage Award: James Tellier, Braintree

Dr. Joseph H. Burnett Award for Best Player in Boston: Sahmir Morales, Brighton

Dinner Co-Chairmen: Jim Kearney, Tom Lopez, Dick Lawrence

Co-Hosts: Cheryl Duddy Schoenfeld, President, Gridiron Club

Tom Bingham, President, MHSFCA

Master of Ceremonies: Tom Burke

Tickets are $100 each and may be purchased online by clicking

 or by contacting Gridiron Club Secretary/Treasurer Dick Lawrence at 781-23-0372  or by email at Social hour begins at 4:00; dinner will be served at 5:00.

About the Gridiron Club, “Keepers of the Flame”

Founded in 1932, the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston ( promotes the game of football at all levels and nurtures the ideals of citizenship, sportsmanship, leadership, and athletic and academic achievement. A registered 501 (c) 3 non-profit corporation, the Gridiron Club is supported by membership dues, philanthropic contributions, and proceeds from its annual dinners.  The Club honors exemplary players, coaches and officials at all levels of the sport and supports worthy charitable causes, especially those that assist children.

About gridclubboston

"Keepers of the Flame" of sporting tradition in New England since 1932.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s